Abs are Made in the Kitchen

What exactly does the common phrase “abs are made in the kitchen” even mean. It means that your diet dictates a significant amount of weight loss. I have heard that diet factors into 70%-80% of health and weight loss, and the rest is done at the gym. If you think about it, it is really easy to consume a lot of calories in one day if we let ourselves. These calories may be consumed from mindless snacking or eating unhealthy meals that you don’t even realize has such a significant amount of calories. We also need to be aware of what we eat when at restaurants. A meal that you order out is likely to have many more calories than if you cook it at home.

It is much harder to burn those calories than it was to take them in. To give you some examples according to livestrong.com an hour and a half of Bikram Yoga will burn 600 calories, also and equivalent to running for an hour and 15 minutes. Bikram Yoga is one of my favorites work outs, but it is also one of the most intense work outs I have ever tried, and it is unlikely that the majority of the population is participating in a 90 minute session of yoga or running for 75 minutes to burn off the excess of calories they ate. Another example, to help put things in perspective is that according to planetberries.com  you must walk the length of a football field in order to burn off one single m&m candy.

Now, next time you go to the grocery store really think about what you are buying and try to make healthy choices. Wouldn’t it be helpful if there was a food concierge at your local Safeway store to help you figure out how to make the best healthy choices for you and your family? I always like to think about what I put into my body. If it has a lot of ingredients I don’t want to eat it. If it has an ingredient that I cannot pronounce, why would I want that mystery product in my body?  I want to leave you with this image/quote that I like to think about when I am really craving some In ‘N Out french fries and a burger.

November 2, 2012. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. sketchyberts replied:

    This is a really great idea, and I myself wish there was a concierge person to tell what I should or shouldnt get in the grocery stores to help better my health and “workout diet”. After a couple of years of scouring websites, and many trial and errors, I now have routine meals that I can both enjoy, doesnt cost me a fortune, and above all betters my health and actually provides results with my workouts. Even now and days when I go home to visit family, I look in the fridge and get disappointed because about 95% of it, I don’t want to eat because of my knowledge of what I should and shouldnt eat. Again a really great idea and something that should really get pushed for, for the betterment of individuals and the country.

  2. tbmiers replied:

    I really like the idea you are getting at with this. People need to understand the difference between what is seemingly healthy and how to actually live their lives. Like some people I know think that it is ok to eat fast food all the time as long as they go to the gym every day. I think this is a great idea, and it would help out a lot of people who are simply uninformed. As health and fitness continue to evolve I can see this becoming a real possibility for the future of grocery stores.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

